A super, wonderful, exciting, blessed, awesome day

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Weather was slightly overcast but warm. Drove 195 miles in 2:45 hours. Not a world record but don’t mention it to the State Troopers or Highway Patrolmen as speed limits were broken in several places along the way.

Arrived at Aunt and Uncles before any of the other expected guests. Uncle greeted me at the door, “We take no solicitors!”

“But I have great stuff to sell,” it was nice to hug him. It has been too many years. He later tells me he wants to write the preface to my book when I get published. I need to work on that. I feel my cheeks warm when he tells me I have talent.

Aunt was still getting ready for the day. Sees me and immediately decides to change outfits. She looked great, I’ve always been simple only because I have no sense of fashion. The two of them, (he retired a couple of years ago) have gotten into jewelry making so she showed me some beautiful pieces that have managed to not make it to her granddaughters. One piece she made special for my Mom, so beautiful and perfect for the occasion.  They want to see my new vehicle, are impressed. Hard not to be with the black with silver trim and tan leather interior of the  2008 QX56. The only luxury I understand is vehicles, the only ones I want for myself is the kind that can make it to the woods.

Mom and fiance arrive. Mom looks phenomenal, he in awe of her. We chat for a while then Aunt, Mom and I head into town to meet my future step-sister. For Aunt and me, the first time. I’m a little nervous knowing she is a highly educated engineer employed with NASA and I’m only a simple mortgage processor. No need to worry, she is as down to earth and as real as any one I have ever met, and she’s beautiful! Her personality fits with ours, it is as if she has always been a part of us. I’ve never had a real sister, only a cousin I cherish as I think I would a sister. I’m looking forward to the future. Disappointed somewhat that I did not get to meet my future step-nephew, step-brother-in-law or step-brother.  Never shall I refer to any of them as ‘step’ again.

After lunch, we girls ventured to the mall. Those of you who know me know what an undertaking this was :). I have not stepped foot inside a mall since I registered for wedding presents in 2004. Don’t judge.

Navy blue is the color Mom had chosen for us to wear. The flower she has picked for the wedding is the Tennessee Iris

iris

Fortunately it is prom season so formal attire is readily available. We find several selections and model for the enjoyment of the poor fellows drug to the mall by their wives. I really liked two, future sister liked the same ones so Mom had to decide. She asked the attendant to hold the selection and off we went to the complete opposite side of the mall to look at others.

On the way…picture this. Four white women, the youngest being 40, the oldest representing clearly that 70 is the new 50, strolling casually along when suddenly we are stopped by a huge black man with a wide bright smile. He focuses on future sister and with the most sincere look on his face, states simply, “I’m sorry but I just had to tell you. I saw you from across the mall and just wanted you to know that I think you have the most beautiful smile of anyone I have ever seen,” and he disappeared. The four us stood there breathless for a few seconds waiting for the incident to sink in. I could not agree with our interrupter more!

We look at dresses in the other store but find nothing to compare. This store has a great selection of shoes so we decide to see if they have something that will go with what we found at the other place.  **Note, I’m trying on formal wear wearing the gold studded camo heals seen in my avatar.***Sexy camo shoe

We found them except it seems that they were not meant for me. Sister shops here enough to be on a first name basis with the attendant. She asked for our sizes and he quickly returns with two boxes before vanishing to help others. Her’s fit perfectly, mine slid. Wrong size. The box has the correct size but the shoes inside are a 1/2 size bigger than advertised. Sister calls him back over. He apologizes and quickly returns with the correct size.

I put the shoes on, he brought two left shoes but the size is correct. He tries again only bringing two right shoes. We are laughing hysterically, these shoes are not to be for me when he finally brings the correct size and one for each foot. Mom and I look at each other in wonder at how everything is coming together perfectly.

Aunt, Mom and I say goodbye to Sister in the parking garage. It was nice to get a real hug from her, I’m looking forward to getting to know her better. The wedding is on the 25th of next month.

The only thing that would have made this a more special day is if the worlds best husband and my wandering brother were there. We will all be together soon and starting a new chapter in life. With God’s blessings and love we all move forward to fulfill his will.

One comment

  1. Beautifully stated. I had a wonderful day also. Meetng Stacy was a true joy and being with her and my sweet niece Leigh and giving and receiving hugs from them was truly a blessing. Sista Debbie and I have quite a long history of shopping so immediately went into that mode and got it done. So wonderful to see her so happy. God has blessed us tremendously and we give Him all the glory!!!

Leave a Reply

